mi llama es frustracion pero al menos tengo un delicioso desayuno

I used to look forward to snow days, the extended time to write.  But somehow I’ve written myself into a rut again–not to a place where there’s a lack of ideas but instead a lack of intelligible words with which to speak of the ideas.  I wrote 1,183 words during the Child’s naptime yesterday, stopping before he woke to work on a blog post and give the muse a rest.  We really didn’t work well together–and I knew that as I sat down to the keyboard.  I’m sure all artists get that way sometimes.  When, as we’re working on the piece of art, we are constantly thinking, “geez this is terrible,” but yet driven by the need to create, we press on.  I also took some time to follow along on Twitter for the Writers Digest Conference–anonymously cheering the hopefuls on, wishing I could be there too.  But I’m not ready.  I’m not ashamed to admit that.  But boy o boy when someone tweeted that YA sci-fi was making an aggressive come-back, I nearly did a backflip out of my chair.  Well, get on it, already.  Stop talking about it and do it. I know, I know.  But you can’t rush true art, and I’m doing this because I’m really trying to discover the essence of this Story with characters I no longer consider just two-dimensional.  It’ll happen.  And if it doesn’t, I have to just accept that this was a part of my growth as a person.

Rosetta Stone:  I’ve been a bad student lately.  I hadn’t logged in for over a week, so I took it upon myself today without Rosetta’s prompting to go back and review a few lessons before continuing where I had left off.  I’m nearly through with Lesson 3, Unit 2, which I’m not at all worried about.  Well, I take that back.  Not having the English translation or any explanation for what I’m learning is sometimes difficult.  At first it was awesome.  Now, sometimes I feel like I’m floundering alone in the dark, with a 50-50 shot at getting a question right.

I had a couple tripping points today, one being:  What is your name?  –>  ¿Cómo te llamas? Y ¿Cómo se llama usted?”  Based on the pictures and the combination of adults and children, and who was the one speaking, I’m assuming one is a familiar voice and one is a formal voice.

I’m hoping to sit in on a Spanish 1 class this week to see if I understand anything.  In any rate, I WILL get through Lesson 3 of Unit 2 this week.  That much, I promise.

I started the day today with French Toast casserole — not a new recipe for me but OMG if you like French toast and/or bread pudding THIS IS THE BEST STUFF EVUH.

Here’s the recipe:  http://allrecipes.com/Recipe/French-Toast-Casserole/Detail.aspx

Basically, it’s cubed bread, milk, eggs, cin-sugar mix, salt, vanilla extract, and deliciousness.  In 45 minutes or less, it’s one of my favorite ways to start the morning.  With or without maple syrup.  I’ve made mine in a cake pan before (crunchy) or in a bread pan like these (gooey).

Happy baking, happy writing, and happy learning!

Yours,

Missy

 

Leave a Reply

