project 52: bonus recipe –> spinach quiche

Sometimes we can’t look away because we want to see the train wreck, despite the horror, the carnage, the images from the catastrophe which will be forever burned into our memories.  I get that, I really do, which is why I decided to include this next recipe.

My original resolution was to try at least one new recipe each week.  So far, all of my recipes have been desserts because nearly everyone likes things cooked with mass amounts of sugar and butter.

But during this snow day, after raiding the pantry and both refrigerators, I decided I’d try to bake a quiche.  I’ve never made one at all–the closest I’ve made is a ab-fab French toast casserole which is super-easy and makes the house smell like heaven.  Last week, Stephanie sent me some recipes so I bought two frozen pie crusts (also a first for me), two solid bricks of frozen spinach, and waited it out until the next snow day.

I’ll admit right now–I didn’t follow the recipe.  Since we’re snowed in, I had to work with what we had available, which wasn’t much.  The first major change was the type of cheese–most of the quiche recipes I found called for Swiss, which we never have, so I searched for quiche recipes with spinach and cheddar.  Here’s the one I found:  butter, garlic, onion, mushrooms, feta, cheddar, salt and pepper, eggs, milk, pie crust.

First:  if you plan to use this recipe, realize the measurements are off.  By a lot.  And had I bothered to read the comments left by actual people who’ve tried it before, I would have known this.  I left about 1/4 cup of the egg/milk mixture in the bowl because the pie crust overflowed, and half of the crust edges fell off.  I’m glad I used a cookie sheet under the pan, otherwise I might have caught the oven on fire.  But despite its burnt appearance, it actually tasted pretty good.  The garlic was a little overpowering, so have no fear of being attacked by vampires for at least a full week after consuming the quiche.

Ready for my rendition of the recipe?  Here goes…

  • 3 eggs (adjusted from original)
  • 3/4 cup milk (adjusted from original)
  • 1 1/4 packages of shredded cheddar cheese
  • 1 stick butter
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • 1 teaspoon of minced garlic
  • 3 tablespoons Parmesan cheese
  • 2 tablespoons bacon topping (preferably Hormel)
  • 1 brick of frozen spinach, thawed and drained
  • 4-5 frozen seasoned mini baby baker potatoes, prepared per microwave instructions

Preheat oven to 375.

In the original recipe, the first step is to melt the butter on the stove, then add THREE cloves of garlic and diced onion, and brown them for 7 minutes.  While I love my garlic, three full cloves seemed like a lot.  I cut it down to one, and since we only had minced garlic, the equivalent called for 1 teaspoon.  Next time, if I do this recipe again, I may even cut back to 1/2 teaspoon.  We also didn’t have any onion, so I left this out and didn’t add any substitutes.

After thawing the spinach, I added it to the melted butter and garlic.  Then, I added one full package (8 oz) of cheddar, stirring as I added a little at a time.  The cheese pulled the butter and spinach together into a big lump that I just sort of moved around in the pan.  That’s the beauty of trying new recipes:  everything appears simultaneously correct and incorrect, but you have to follow through to see the finished product.

Even though the original recipe didn’t call for it, I added about 3 tablespoons of Parmesan cheese, knowing that this was an important ingredient in spinach-artichoke dip, and I also added about 2 tablespoons of bacon topping.

The original recipe called for mushrooms, which I don’t like, and we didn’t have in the cabinet anyway, so I pulled about 5 seasoned mini baby baker potatoes and nuked them in the microwave for 6 minutes.  I cut them up into smaller pieces and added them to the spinach.

Add salt and pepper to taste.  I counted “one shake-a, two shake-a” for both.

In a separate bowl, combine the milk and eggs.

THIS IS WHERE THE RECIPE TOOK A TURN FOR THE WORSE.

The original recipe says to add the spinach mixture into the pie crust, THEN pour over the milk and eggs, making sure it mixes with the spinach.  Part of me said “why not mix the milk and eggs with the spinach BEFORE pouring it into the crust?”  The crust already seemed full with just the spinach and cheese, but like a novice, I began pouring the milk and eggs over the spinach in the crust until I saw that it would be a complete disaster.  Carefully, I scraped the spinach out of the crust, put it back in the pan, added the milk and eggs, and re-poured it back into the crust.  This may also be why the crust fell apart because it had time to thaw.  When I finished, the crust was FULL and quite a bit of it bubbled over while it was cooking.

Per the original recipe, I baked the quiche for 15 minutes, then sprinkled more cheddar on top.  This actually created almost a crust when it was finished.  After adding the cheddar on top, I baked, per the original recipe, for another 35 minutes on the dot.

The crust was a little brown, though I wouldn’t call it burnt.  In all, I thought it was pretty good.  I saved the leftovers since the snow is still relentlessly falling, threatening another day at home tomorrow.  The Child liked the smell of it but when it came to eating it, he preferred his apple sauce and fruity pebbles.

There’s always a critic.

Happy baking!

Yours,

Missy

Leave a Reply

