project 52: recipe #2 –> cake balls

I realize part of building an audience is being consistent–you don’t need to tell me this.  I know this.  So I apologize in advance that I’ve neglected my blog–but this is why I didn’t have a resolution about posting to it on a regular basis.  Writing everyday?  Yes.  Posting to the blog?  Not so much.

So between last Tuesday(?) and now, I’ve attempted with every bit of my being to return to a semi-regular routine at work.  We still have an elusive critter who has eaten a hole the size of my fist in our ceiling tile.  In my mind, he appears something like warehouse mouse, pear-shaped and deliciously full of drop-ceiling, especially when I have the “Where is warehouse mouse?!” song stuck in my head from watching it twelve times in a row with my son.  There are two sticky traps set on the floor for him, and though we’ve debated putting a piece of that delicious ceiling on the trap, neither one of us wants to find it first thing in the morning.

Friday I received some unexpected yet happy news and found myself surviving on a pan of tiramisu and three cans of Coke while lesson planning from 7:30 Sunday morning until 2:00am Monday.  Somehow I made it through Monday, but I must admit, I was thankful for the two snow days, regardless of the effect it may have on how the school year looks down the road.  I accomplished much over the two days, including making a Facebook page for my new class, creating a Google site (which, by the way, if you need a super-quick, easy way to make a website–this is the way to go.  SRSLY.) and was able to get started on the template for this year’s literary magazine, all while casually ignoring the muse trying to flag me down from the sidelines.  I kept working through some dialogue in my head between a father and daughter–two characters from my latest attempt at writing young adult fiction, but I never got the chance to record any of it in writing.  I might try writing later tonight.  I’ve just about entirely given up on living a lifestyle not dependent on caffeine, because not having to sleep for ten hours and actually having energy is so much more productive, as I finish off the rest of my Mountain Drop at 8:00pm.  In any rate, the muse channeled through a friend and showed me a book with characters slightly similar to my own, reminding me that my grace period with procrastinating the completion of That Novel is ticking away.  So what did I do?  I baked cookies.

Snickerdoodles actually, but I cheated because I used a box mix–but I had swell luck with how they turned out the last time, and I loved that they didn’t stick to the pan at all because nothing burns my cookies more than…well…stuck cookies.  The cookies were for my dad, and I swear I only ate enough batter that I was one cookie short.

 

 

But my week 2 new recipe I tried today is thanks to my colleague Michelle — though they didn’t turn out near as pretty as the ones she originally posted over the holiday break.  For lack of a fancier name, I’ll call them cake balls because they are balls made of cake and icing, covered in chocolate.  I liked the recipe because I could SO handle making a cake and not worrying about destroying it when I took it out of the pan.  I had hoped that the Baby would pitch in and help, at least with the chocolate dipping and the sprinkles, but instead I had two broken forks arguing over which one was Batman.

 

 

So, here’s the recipe:

  1. Bake a cake of your flavor preference using a box mix.  I chose a chocolate cake mix.
  2. Crumble the slightly cooled cake and add 3/4 to a full tub of icing, (again I chose chocolate) stirring until you have a cookie-batter consistency.
  3. Melt chocolate bark either using a double-boiler or a microwave (thanks Stephanie for the suggestion–it was much easier)
  4. Roll cake/icing mixture into balls and dip them into the melted chocolate.  This is where the Batman forks come in.  I also used a spoon to pour chocolate over the cake balls.
  5. Set to cool on wax paper and decorate with sprinkles, nuts, and crumbled candy pieces.

I also used some of the extra chocolate to try to make a chocolate bowl.  It chipped when I was peeling away the tin foil wrapper.

 

Who’s going to eat the desserts:  not sure yet — probably co-workers and family.  I’ll let you know how it goes.

Yours,

Missy

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Stephanie on January 13, 2011 at 8:56 am

    I bet the cake balls were amazing!!!

    Reply

  2. […] About Me « project 52: recipe #2 –> cake balls […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

