a day of new beginnings

I remember when I was younger singing “This is a Day of New Beginnings” at church to celebrate the new year.  I caught myself humming it throughout the day today.  I’m pretty congested right now, so I’m sure my singing voice is much worse than usual.  The first verse is as follows:  “This is a day of new beginnings, / time to remember and move on, / time to believe what love is bringing, / laying to rest the pain that’s gone.”  I’ll be honest:  2010 was a rough, emotional year:  my last grandparent passed away; I started a new job; my dad retired; I turned thirty.  My vitamin D levels dropped and my energy along with it, and I can no longer fit into my skinny jeans.  The writing muse stayed mute from May to December, and I felt the pain of being ignored by a companion and friend.  So I’m looking forward to the new year, to its promise and potential, and I created a list of eleven resolutions for 2011 which will be the basis for this blog, at least for this year.

1.       I will spend more quality time with family.  This includes spending at least two hours each day with the television off.

2.       I will find ways to be a better mother and wife and incorporate these ways into daily routine.

3.       I will strive to hold my tongue when what I must say does not somehow benefit others.

4.       I will accept and let go of things I cannot change.  This includes people.

5.       I will write every day.  It doesn’t have to be something I’d necessarily share with others but in the process, I hope to become a more conscientious and reflective writer.

6.       I will battle my fear of rejection:  I will finish something and submit it for publication somewhere at least once a month.

7.       I will try a new recipe each week.

8.       I will read more, both in pages and genres.

9.       I will learn to get beyond the idea that a thick book is a bad book, simply because it takes quite a bit longer to read.

10.   I will broaden my knowledge of the world by learning new languages.

11.   I will learn something new every day and somehow inspire others to do the same.

I would have included one about fitting back into my skinny jeans–but for those of you who know me, you understand I don’t like making commitments I know I can’t reach, or, as the case may be, zip and button.

I encourage you to commit to your resolutions and consider the potential within you to be something great to someone in 2011.  You never know how the ordinary-you might impact and change a life for the better.

Yours–

Missy

By the way, this really cool picture is of the Aztec Calendar by Teodoro S. Gruhl.  If you want to see more of his pictures, here is the website.
Leave a Reply

